Posted by: zzgwilli | August 17, 2008

iPod Touch problems continue

After leaving the iPod Touch to restore itself overnight, I returned this morning to find that it has been restored to exactly the same ‘broken’ state that caused me to restore it in the first place! No third-party application will run. So it appears that the problem was backed up as well.

I therefore have no choice but to do another restore, but this time back to the original factory state, from where I will have to re-transfer the applications, music, podcasts, videos, etc. I had to do the same thing with the iPhone. Unfortunately despite the frequent and time-consuming backups that take place, only one backup is kept by iTunes for each device.

I have to find where these backups are kept on the desktop system and after the first complete backup I will archive it to a different location so that I have a known good copy to restore from in case this happens again.

I’m suspicious of an application called instapaper as the cause of all this trouble. It was the last application that I tried to launch before all this trouble started. I can’t recall that it ever worked on the iPhone and may have been the start of my troubles there too.

Fortunately rebuilding the iPod is not too difficult. The main thing lost doing a restore this way is any data previously stored on the iPod such as documents, notes, game saves, email (never have a dedicated email account just for the phone for this reason) and application settings eg passwords, website registrations etc.


Responses

  1. […] My iPhone Adventures put an intriguing blog post on iPod Touch problems continueHere’s a quick overviewI can’t recall that it ever worked on the iPhone and may have been the start of my troubles there too….I had to do the same thing with the iPhone…. […]


Leave a comment

Categories